TWD-Dulce de Leche Duos

Well, after joining Tuesdays with Dorie over a year and a half ago, it’s my turn to pick the recipe!!
I chose Dulce de Leche Duos. Dulce de leche means “candied milk” in Spanish. Those of you not familiar with it, it’s really just sweetened condensed milk boiled for a long time until it’s thick, dark and caramel-y. I made it once in the oven for a gelato recipe, but I prefer buying it in the can.

This recipe is dulce de leche sandwiched between two dulce de leche flavored cookies. The cookies are straight forward and come together in a few minutes.

After I dropped them all on the pans and started baking them, I realized I made them too big. They flattened out quite a bit (I baked them while I was out of town in a MUCH higher elevation).

So there was quite a bit more surface area to spread the dulce de leche. Can’t complain about that.

These are so yummy if you like dulce de leche. The cookies are soft and warm with caramel flavor, and the smooth, creamy dulce de leche filling is great little surprise in the middle. In the “Playing Around” section, Dorie suggests using chocolate ganache filling or dipping the cookie bottoms in chocolate before spreading the dulce de leche. I think this would make them ultra-sweet, as dulce de leche could give you a toothache by itself.
This girl loved them. After this picture was taken, I spent 5 minutes scrubbing dulce de leche off her face.

Dulce de Leche Duos
by Dorie Greenspan from Baking From My Home to Yours
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 sticks (8 oz) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cups store-bought dulce de leche, plus more for filling
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
Position the racks to divide the oven into thirds and preheat the oven 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone mats.
 Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.
Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter at medium speed until soft. Add the 3/4 cup of dulce de leche and both sugars and continue to beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each addition. Don’t be concerned if the mixture looks a little curdled- it will smooth out when the flour mixture goes in. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing only until they disappear into the batter.
Spoon the dough onto the baking sheets, using a heaping teaspoon of dough for each cookie and leaving 2 inches between them.
Bake the cookies 10 to 12 minutes, rotating the pans from top to bottom and front the back at the midway point. The cookies should be honey brown with a light sugar crust, but they will still be soft, so remove the sheets from the oven but don’t touch the cookies for another minute or two. Then, using a wide metal spatula, transfer the cookies to a rack to cool to room temperature.
Repeat with the remaining dough, making sure you cool the baking sheets before spooning the dough onto them.
When the cookies are completely cool, spread the flat bottoms of half the cookies with a small amount of dulce de leche, and sandwich with the flat sides of the remaining cookies.
Makes about 30 sandwich cookies

60 thoughts on “TWD-Dulce de Leche Duos

  1. Flourchild says:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful selection of recipes this week! I am so glad you picked this recipe, cus they tasted yummy and I learned out to make homemade Dulce de leche!Your cookies look great and Im sure your sweet daughter loved them!

  2. LDH says:

    Good morning Jodie! I really enjoyed making this recipe. Your little one looks like she enjoyed eating them! So nice to stop by and visit with you for TWD. You made a great pick!Kindly, ldh

  3. Bridget says:

    Oh man, I can totally imagine how long it would take to wash sticky dulce de leche off of a kid's face! Hehe. I thought these were fantastic. (By the way, you're missing the salt in the ingredient list!)

  4. Heather says:

    Your cookies look amazingly "tidy". I'm impressed. I had to throw my big batch away. Very yummy cookies though. Love your topsy turvy cake too!

  5. Gabe's Girl says:

    Wow, what a great pick and a great job! I am gonna make these this week. I will post late, but better late than never… These look right up my alley. I love simple and sweet.

  6. Deeva says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, for this pick. Everyone who had 1 cookie had to have another cookie, and another…so you know they didn't last long. Your cookies look good and such a cute pic of your daughter eating them.

  7. Judy says:

    Great choice! I might not have made these because they're not chocolate, but we loved them a lot. I shouldn't have been surprised, since dulce de leche ice cream is one of our favorites.

  8. Mary says:

    Your cookies look wonderful, and thanks for a great pick! I totally screwed these up, and I can only blame myself. Maybe I need to try these again, as I love dulce de leche.

  9. mikejdunlap says:

    These were by far one of the best cookies – thanks for making such a great choice – looks like they were enjoyed by all (love that photo of the little one)! What a cookie monster! :)mikeTWD blog:web.me.com/mikejdunlap

  10. CB says:

    My husband's coworkers thank you but my hips don't! These cookies were fabulous. I'm not a big cookie person so who knows if I ever would have baked these up myself. But I'm so glad I did. I think I ate my weight in dulce de leche. Oops! Thanks for hosting this week.-CBhttp://iheartfood4thought.com

  11. Katrina says:

    Great pick this week, Jodie. I love when I get to try new recipes that I might not have otherwise. I thought they were great with chocolate. I actually tried one with Nutella in the center today and thought it was GREAT.

  12. Tracey says:

    Thanks for hosting this week Jodie! It was my first encounter with dulce de leche! I really loved these cookies on their own but thought they were a bit too sweet when sandwiched with the DDL. Great pic of your little girl 🙂

  13. Nickki says:

    These cookies really did spread! They were really good, thank you for choosing this recipe! I've wanted to make them for over 2 years now! Cute picture of your little girl!

  14. Amanda says:

    Thnak you so much for hosting this week! I'm so sorry I had to do a rewind this week, didn't have the ingredients. Still want to make them though!

  15. Di says:

    Great pick, Jodie! I was surprised how big a hit these were. I love the last picture. My 7yo wasn't thrilled with the cookies, but my 3yo loved them. =)

  16. TeaLady says:

    This was a GREAT pic. Had fun making them and more fun eating.Most are frozen. They were just too tempting.i've been boiling cans of condensed milk for years, but never thot to make cookies with it.

  17. Pamela says:

    Great picture of your little girl! Thanks for choosing this one. It was on my short list of ones I wanted to pick as well. I really enjoyed these, especially with some ganache!

  18. Liz says:

    First off, your daughter is darling.Secondly, fun pick! They admittedly weren't my favorite, but I do love me some DDL so it was great to have an excuse to make it and have some in the kitchen.

Leave a comment