Chocolate Cake

Ok, whoever was tasked with telling me National Chocolate Cake day was last week really fell down on the job. I mean, chocolate cake is my favorite. Like, the thing I would take on a deserted island, last dinner on earth favorite. How could I miss this? Luckily, I don’t need a special occasion to make chocolate cake. So there.

Usually I make this chocolate cake because it’s easy and foolproof. But I was in the mood to try something different so I went to Pinterest and searched for a new one to try and found his one by Life Love and Sugar. Hers looks delicious because she used Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder. I didn’t have any, so I just used my go-to Trader Joes cocoa powder.

The recipe is one bowl (bonus!) and comes together in about 10 minutes. I halved the recipe and make it in 6″ pans so we didn’t have too much leftover (i.e I wouldn’t eat that much cake).  

 Chocolate Cake
Yield: 3 layer 8 inch cake

Ingredients

Chocolate Cake

2 cups all purpose flour

2 cups granulated sugar

3/4 cup Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa powder

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1 cup milk

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup boiling water

Chocolate Frosting

1 cup butter

1 cup shortening

8 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa powder

1/4 cup milk as needed

Instructions

1. Grease three 8″ round cake pans. Line with parchment and set aside.

2. Add all dry ingredients to a large bowl and whisk together.

3. Add eggs, milk, vanilla and vegetable oil to the dry ingredients and mix well.

4. Add boiling water to mixture. Mix well.

5. Pour into prepared pans and bake at 300 degrees for about 28-30 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.

6. Remove cakes from oven and allow to cool for about 10 minutes, then remove to cooling racks to cool completely.

7. Make frosting- Beat together butter and shortening until smooth.

8. Slowly add powdered sugar and cocoa and mix on low.

9. Add vanilla and milk and mix until the frosting is the right consistency.

10. Once cakes are cool, fill and frost.

Recipe adapted from Life Love and Sugar

Leave a Reply

